I don’t know…

Well I have to say that God knows all and knew to inspire President Winder to assign our temple day today because he knew emailing on Monday would be a bad thing. I’m so glad I read the email that said Luke was okay before I read the ones saying that there was a giant killer hurricane/cyclone.

This week has been great. I certainly have some stories to tell. First, Sister Marsh and I got condemned on Tuesday. We went and saw a less active old lady in our ward. We spoke with her for a while and learned very quickly that she was an extremely opinionated woman. We shared Alma 37:37 with her and talked with her about prayer. According to her my testimony that God would answer prayers was “misguided,” and prayers were only for thanks. However I can truly testify that God answers prayers. Then came the really fun part. She noticed the pictures of Jesus Sister Marsh has in her scriptures and she said “Girls, I’d like you to turn to Deuteronomy 5:8.” Well for those of you (like me) who don’t have that memorized it’s about graven images. Well we got a nice 10 minute lecture about how we were breaking the 10 Commandments. She requested that we speak to the Bishop about having all pictures removed from the church. We were polite despite how I wanted to respond and tried to cool down the situation. When we left she was still mumbling under her breath how we would be going to hell. I think we’ll be okay.

We had Zone Conference this week which was awesome. We got a lot of training from President Winder which was wonderful. He is an awesome Mission President. He really is inspired. One of my favorite things was the 30 second testimonies that every missionary gives. It really becomes a real testimony meeting because you are forced to pick and say only the really important things. Everyone testified of Christ, of the Restored Gospel and of the Scriptures. Being a missionary is so cool!

I went on exchanges for the first time with the STL’s. It was a pretty normal day. I taught The Restoration twice to elementary aged kids which was a lot of fun. We also went to a assisted living facility and called BINGO. I guess I didn’t know BINGO was a gambling game or how heated old people get when playing BINGO but it was a pretty intense experience. I was a little surprised we were allowed to support gambling but alright. I also realized how grateful I am for my voice. Most of the time people think I’m too loud but as I read those numbers I was so happy I was loud.

I have to say I had a trial of obedience this week. A lady in our ward had a baby this week and we have been over to see her several times and every time I see that baby I get a tiny bit sad that I’m a missionary and can’t hold him but ah well. Obedience brings blessings.

Service has been going well. We cook meals for an old couple which has been an adventure. I often wish that I was more like my mom and had recipes memorized because I won’t lie cooking without recipes has been a challenge. We made meat loaf and I’m pretty sure the spirit must have given me the recipe because I had no idea how to make meat loaf but it turned out well. We also made stuffed peppers (again I’ve gotta thank the Holy Ghost for that one). We did make mac and cheese and tuna noodle casserole which I had some idea but again we were praying pretty hard. They were so appreciative it was sweet. I’m excited to continue and serve them.

A couple of things I have learned about Boise. First Idaho has beautiful clouds! Like picture perfect clouds. Some days we think we’re in a painting. Second the air always smells of cows (at least in my area). Coming home at night you smell so weird- it’s this strange combination of cow, dog, cat, food, sweat and a bunch of people smell. Not sure if that makes sense but it’s certainly unique. One other thing is that as a missionary you meet so many people with so many different stories. I met a lady this week that married her husband 24 hours after meeting him. 24 HOURS! My heavens! And guess what? They’ve been married for 56 years! So crazy.

All is well here in Boise!

2 Nephi 26:24-25 has been on my mind this week. “He doeth not anything save it be for the benefit of the world; for he loveth the world, even that he layeth down his own life that he may draw all men unto him. Wherefore, he commandeth none that they shall not partake of his salvation. Behold, doth he cry unto any, saying: Depart from me? Behold, I say unto you, Nay; but he saith: Come unto me all ye ends of the earth, buy milk and honey, without money and without price.” Jesus Christ really is our Savior. He is everyone’s Savior but he is also better put he is every ones Savior. He didn’t just save everyone but he saves all the “ones.” He’s a personal Savior and He knows us individually. He loves all of us but He loves you! I hope you all believe that and know that. It is true. I love you all!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

